Page [1
Author Topic: Live Race 18 replies
Juan Manuel Martinez Sanchez
(Group Amateur - 21)



Posts: 444
  Country:
Spain 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (1)
Old post #1 posted Jun 29th 2021, 20:51:15 (last edited Jun 29th 2021, 22:08:17 by Florencia Caro) Quote 
Is it working?
---------------------
Sistema
Juan Manuel Martinez Sanchez
(Group Amateur - 21)



Posts: 444
  Country:
Spain 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (1)
Old post #2 posted Jun 29th 2021, 21:10:48 Quote 
Ok, in a mobile is running, slow but running.
The problem is in an Android tablet.
---------------------------------------------------------
Sistema
Ilia Lilov
(Group Amateur - 16)



Posts: 109
  Country:
Bulgaria 
Certified: 
Like this post (2)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #3 posted Jun 29th 2021, 21:44:10 Quote 
The mobile experience is pretty terrible for me, at least on the mobile chrome browser
Mack Cotton
(Group Amateur - 4)



Posts: 38
  Country:
United States 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #4 posted Jun 29th 2021, 21:57:27 Quote 
It was very slow for me today, at least on mobile...same here with chrome on Android.
Keith Partridge
(Group Amateur - 15)



Posts: 735
  Country:
Wales 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #5 posted Jun 29th 2021, 22:06:32 Quote 
It was very jumpy on Chrome on the laptop as well.....
Chris Adnams
(Group Master - 5)



Posts: 173
  Country:
England 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #6 posted Jun 29th 2021, 22:12:46 (last edited Jun 29th 2021, 22:12:59 by Chris Adnams) Quote 
On my Android phone it was very bad, and also the same when I checked on my iPad when I got home. Sure Vlad is aware and will sort it.
Juan Manuel Martinez Sanchez
(Group Amateur - 21)



Posts: 444
  Country:
Spain 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #7 posted Jun 29th 2021, 23:45:11 Quote 
I can,t watch the race in the tablet even now in the last race replay
---------------------------------------------------------
Sistema

Andrew Merkel
(Group Master - 2)


Posts: 15
  Country:
United States 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #8 posted Jun 30th 2021, 02:06:45 Quote 
I seem to recall the same issue the last time we were at this track.

Juan Manuel Martinez Sanchez
(Group Amateur - 21)



Posts: 444
  Country:
Spain 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #9 posted Jun 30th 2021, 09:30:12 Quote 
In my pc is working good too.
---------------------------------
Sistema
Vladimir Alexandrov
(Administrator)



GPRO Crew
Posts: 7923
  Country:
Bulgaria 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #10 posted Jun 30th 2021, 14:41:50 Quote 
This seems to be track related, we will investigate it. It is strange because Valencia is not the most heavy track, but somehow it is hard on the GPUs, especially on mobile devices. If someone has any clues, let me know.
Montes Dimemola
(Group Pro - 22)



Posts: 182
  Country:
Romania 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #11 posted Jun 30th 2021, 15:02:28 (last edited Jun 30th 2021, 15:02:54 by Montes Dimemola) Quote 
It's probably the high level of details of the track surroundings. The track image size is quite big (but not the direct cause as there are bigger ones). The resolution of it is also probably not helping.

PS: I didn't have any issues with it on my devices though.
Ilia Lilov
(Group Amateur - 16)



Posts: 109
  Country:
Bulgaria 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #12 posted Jun 30th 2021, 16:16:17 Quote 
My phone is with Snapdragon 870 and Adreno 650. Genshin Impact runs smooth as butter. I dont believe it is hardware bottleneck
Hans Barf
(Group Amateur - 23)



GPRO Crew
Posts: 3905
  Country:
Netherlands 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #13 posted Jul 1st 2021, 10:54:45 (last edited Jul 1st 2021, 11:06:42 by Hans Barf) Quote 
Valencia tops all circuits in width (and comes in 2nd to Austin on total canvas size). Anyone know about that in relation to causing memory problems while resizing on mobile devices?
And the detail might be the cause as well, since Austin is maybe easier for the downsize algorithm on mobile devices?

On my mobile valencia runs with roughly a frame per second.
Baku runs oaky, but has some short freezes.
Austin runs smooth.
Singapore is usualy a bit jerky for me as well btw.

Vladimir Alexandrov
(Administrator)



GPRO Crew
Posts: 7923
  Country:
Bulgaria 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #14 posted Jul 1st 2021, 11:34:43 Quote 
Can those of you that have poor performance in the Valencia replay test something for me? Reload the replay, but don't start it. Switch to a previous replay on a track that runs smooth (Paul Ricard for instance), play that replay and make sure it is running smooth. Then select the Valencia replay again (without reloading the page) and start the Valencia replay. Is it running smooth now?
Hans Barf
(Group Amateur - 23)



GPRO Crew
Posts: 3905
  Country:
Netherlands 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #15 posted Jul 1st 2021, 19:24:38 (last edited Jul 1st 2021, 19:39:27 by Hans Barf) Quote 
Sorry. No change after replaying BuenosAires and back to Valencia. Same fps as before.

edit: there is something interesting (or obvious maybe) that I noticed. When zoomed out the frame rate seems normal, but as soon as I zoom in there seems to be a linear relation between the detail and the gap the car jumps tot he next frame. When I speed up * 5 the gap also goes * 5.
So the fps seems to be fixed, regardless the speed and zoom.

tested on a Huawei P smart - 32GB with 3GB ram, Android, Chrome webbrowser
Andrew Merkel
(Group Master - 2)


Posts: 15
  Country:
United States 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #16 posted Jul 1st 2021, 20:18:05 Quote 
Replay at Paul Ricard worked fine, even zoomed all the way in. Valencia, when zoomed in, was still jumping all around. When I zoomed all the way out at Valencia, the frame rate was normal. Anything less than the max zoom oon Valencia and the frame rate was still jumpy.

I'm using a Samsung Galaxy Tab S4, Android, Chrome.
Kshitij Sharma
(Group Amateur - 24)



Posts: 2600
  Country:
India 
Certified: 
Like this post (1)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #17 posted Jul 16th 2021, 20:20:26 Quote 
In track details we have the old layout meanwhile we have the new layout on the live race screen?
Kristaps Zariņš
(Group Amateur - 61)


Posts: 2988
  Country:
Netherlands 
Certified: 
Like this post (0)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #18 posted Jul 16th 2021, 21:35:45 Quote 
When im watching race on OLD race screen, live standings shows P31 as first one in relegation zone ( as it should) , switching to NEW race screen standings shows P33 as first one in relegation (incorrect)...
Jukka Sireni2
(Group Retired)



GPRO Crew
Posts: 3626
  Country:
Finland 
Certified: 
Like this post (3)   Dislike this post (0)
Old post #19 posted Aug 3rd 2021, 16:28:54 Quote 
Quote ( Hans Barf @ July 1st 2021,19:24:38 )

edit: there is something interesting (or obvious maybe) that I noticed. When zoomed out the frame rate seems normal, but as soon as I zoom in there seems to be a linear relation between the detail and the gap the car jumps tot he next frame. When I speed up * 5 the gap also goes * 5.

So the fps seems to be fixed, regardless the speed and zoom.


Commenting this since I'm here for the olympic prediction games.

The fully zoomed out image is cached in code, so if it works well with that, then it is not due to car position calculations but due to resizing/drawing the image.

The code tries to figure out the optimal frame rate. So it measures 10 steps in the beginning of race how long they take. Thus, if it starts with zoom, then it will stay slow even when zoomed out. And it indeed uses the same rate also when speeded, just the time steps are longer.

Also, nowadays, if it can't keep up the frame rate, it recalculates the time step. A long time ago, the time step was calculated from frame rate. Thus, if it couldn't keep up with frame rate, the race was running too slow.
Page [1

Reply to this topic